Tags

, ,

I’m a hooker. In the crochet sense of the word.

I relatively recently (about 2 years ago) started crocheting and I love it. Knitting is too hard. Two small metal sticks to control at once is beyond my limited co-ordination skills. Don’t even talk about the evening I spent cursing and tantruming trying to master knitting in the round. Nigh on impossible I tell you.

Back to crochet. I have a good friend who also crochets and we like to get together once a week to gossip and crochet. Originally (before our other friends became too busy) we were a ‘sewing’ group. However, in the absence of bus passes, we have re-named ourselves. We’re now, Yo! Cro. Largely because it was deemed the most appalling by my friend’s teenage son.

image

An elephant I made which, according to my hairdresser, could ‘frighten a baby’

(Pattern from http://jammadestudio.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/crochet_15.html)

I have mentioned Attic 24’s blog before. DON’T go there until you’ve finished reading. Its dazzling beauty will inspire an instant urge to grab a crochet hook and head ‘up north’ (and stop reading this blog).

Lucy – author of Attic24, is something of a hero to myself and my crochet friend. We chat about her as if she is our friend.

“I’m not sure how to finish this blanket”

“Oh I’m sure Lucy mentioned an easy edging, have a look”.

“Lucy always has a solution!”

(Wistful gazes into the distance)

This year, we are planning a trip to Yarndale – a festival of creativity and craft. We might meet Lucy. This is the middle aged equivalent to a backstage pass to One Direction. I must get my Lucy tattoo finished before I go…

Bea

